Festivals review

Closed 20 Apr 2016

Opened 28 Jan 2016

Feedback Updated 11 May 2016

We Asked

We asked for comments on our review of city festival funding.

You Said

The review should allocate funding more equally between the festivals and events of all the city’s communities.

We Did

The final budget proposals are now being developed and have been informed by feedback from the consultation. The proposals will be implemented in the coming months.

Results Updated 23 Jun 2016

Files:

Overview

Leicester City Council supports the delivery of a vibrant programme of festivals throughout the year, both for city residents and visitors to the city.

The festivals are a mixture of events delivered directly by the council’s festivals and events team and through funding provided to external organisations.

The council reviews its festival funding allocations on a regular basis, and considers the extent to which they represent good value for money for the council.

Why We Are Consulting

Leicester City Council’s three-year funding programme for annual festivals (April 2013 - March 2016) was confirmed through a review which concluded in November 2012.

This set the festivals funding programme for 2013-16. Festivals funding was again reviewed in 2015, and so we are now consulting on the next festivals funding programme, which could cover a one, two or three-year period from April 2016 - March 2019.

Areas

  • Abbey
  • Aylestone
  • Beaumont Leys
  • Belgrave
  • Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields
  • Castle
  • Evington
  • Eyres Monsell
  • Fosse
  • Humberstone & Hamilton
  • Knighton
  • Rushey Mead
  • Saffron
  • Spinney Hills
  • Stoneygate
  • Thurncourt
  • Westcotes

Audiences

  • All residents
  • Local businesses
  • Local schools
  • Local charitable organisations, including faith communities
  • Voluntary organisations
  • Community organisations

Interests

  • Parks and green spaces
  • Arts and museums
  • Public participation
  • City centre
  • Business and enterprise
  • Tourism